top of page

Study Abroad: Acclimation Period | Studia Za Granicą: Okres Aklimatyzacji

For Americans, studying in another country is a unique experience that everyone should have at least once in their lives. This idealism can be found in the translation of the Polish phrase for "study abroad”, which is “studia za granicą.” In English, this loosely means that you are looking for new experiences in another country, especially when you have not had such opportunities before. I found, however, that the Polish version of this phrase means that you simply cross the border without regard for any specific meaningful experiences. Be that as it may, I will write about my experiences in Poland, Warsaw School of Economics, as well as student life there.


First of all, you need to know why I chose to study in Poland. I chose to study at the Warsaw School of Economics (SGH) in Warsaw because I had already been on vacation in Poland and studied the language, so it made sense that this would be the only option for me. I talked to the coordinator of the international studies office at my school and she told me that there was a program run by The Council on International Educational Exchange (CIEE). CIEE is a non-profit organization that promotes cultural exchange and education in an international environment. Luckily, the program was already accepted by my school and so all I had to do was complete the paperwork for my school and CIEE.


Later, after getting my stuff together and buying a plane ticket, I went to the airport, said goodbye to my mom, and got on the plane as soon as I could.


— The flight was boring, so there’s no need to cover it —


The plane landed and I saw Warsaw for the first time. However, the view wasn’t much of a surprise. While driving to the hostel on Marszałkowska, where I stayed for two weeks, I witnessed the city’s architecture. It made Warsaw look as though it was in a retro-futuristic society with its modern skyscrapers, juxtaposed with the Soviet-era buildings.


During these two weeks, I began to realize that Polish society was much different than that of America. People didn’t smile in the streets, they dressed more formally than in America, and I thought they talked faster than the speed of sound. But I knew that to assimilate, I had to behave like a Pole and, in my opinion, the best way to do so was to eat traditional Polish food.


I must say that the food tastes amazing! I ate plenty of pork chops, potatoes, and red borscht soup. This might be the reason, among others, that people call me Gienek. I even remember ordering a take-out pizza in an Italian restaurant and a spicy, meat-only kebab from a Turkish restaurant down the street. This is where I learned the Polish word for “spicy” since I couldn't understand what the cashier was saying.


Around the corner, there was a fancy restaurant that offered gourmet food with an American touch. I was enjoying dinner when I heard laughter coming from a table where three girls were sitting. They were looking at something on their phones. A waiter came to me and said that Taco Hemingway was at the restaurant (if you are unfamiliar, Taco Hemingway is a famous Polish rapper). Quickly, but calmly, I went to his table to get a picture. He was eating with his friends and I didn’t want to be rude, so I asked him nicely if we could take a picture together. We took a few and chatted shortly before I left the restaurant. In the end, my Polish friends were angry that I met Taco and I had only been in Poland for two weeks!


Before the official start of classes at SGH, I took part in Polish language classes organized by CIEE. I had a teacher from the University of Warsaw who taught me that you can’t learn such a difficult language with just books and the internet. To sound like a native, you have to practice by speaking — but that was my problem! I didn't have any experience, and active skills are the hardest to improve. I confirmed this belief when I met some of my friends who I only knew from the internet before coming to Poland.


— Here’s a short story about one of those people —


One person was standing on the platform while the other was just getting off the train. Both were making sure that the other wasn’t a fraud or a liar, and that everybody was who they claimed to be. This moment seemed to last forever, but it was only a few seconds. The person on the platform was my friend, and I was getting off the train.


We began to awkwardly talk with each other in Polish about how our days were as if we hadn’t stopped texting. We planned to go to a nice restaurant near the Politechnika station for some pancakes. However, these were not the usual pancakes that you eat in America. These are Polish pancakes and they are most similar to crêpes. Therefore, it’s important to not get them confused with American pancakes.


I sat at the table, opposite to my friend. She was talking because I was nervous, and I had no idea what to say with my limited vocabulary. I tried to form sentences, but I failed, so I stopped speaking altogether. The waitress came to the table and asked us what we wanted. My friend replied by asking about certain ingredients in the pancakes, but I didn’t understand what she was saying. Then, I had to order. The waitress turned to me. I ordered something with meat, as per usual, and I likely had a hard time saying it. The waitress immediately recognized that I was a foreigner. She looked at my friend and said something like: "Is he American? Good luck!" Despite my lack of experience in speaking Polish, I understood everything she said…


After this first meeting, we met a few more times while I was in Warsaw, and we still talk often. We are even considering opening a business together that connects Poland to America. Also, we no longer talk awkwardly.


 

Dla Amerykanów, studiowanie w innym kraju to wyjątkowe doświadczenie, które każdy powinien przeżyć przynajmniej jeden raz w życiu. Ten idealizm można znaleźć w tłumaczeniu frazy „study abroad” — „studia za granicą.” Po angielsku to luźno znaczy, że szuka się nowych doświadczeń w innym państwie, szczególnie kiedy wcześniej nie miało się takich możliwości. Ja znalazłem, jednak polska wersja tej frazy znaczy, że po prostu przekracza się granicę, bez uwzględnienia określonych osobistych doświadczeń. Nawet gdyby tak było, napiszę o moich doświadczeniach w Polsce, o Szkole Głównej Handlowej i życiu studenta.


Przede wszystkim trzeba wiedzieć, dlaczego wybrałem studia w Polsce. Wybrałem studia w Szkole Głównej Handlowej (SGH) w Warszawie, bo już wcześniej byłem w Polsce na wakacjach i uczyłem się języka, więc miało sens, że to była jedyna opcja dla mnie. Porozmawiałem z koordynatorem biura międzynarodowych studiów na moim uniwersytecie. Powiedział mi, że jest program przez The Council on International Educational Exchange (CIEE). CIEE jest organizacją non-profit, która promuje wymianę i edukację w środowisku międzynarodowym. Na szczęście program był zaakceptowany przez moją uczelnię, więc tylko musiałem uzupełnić wszystkie dokumenty zarówno jej, jak i CIEE.


Po przygotowaniu moich rzeczy i kupieniu biletów lotniczych pojechałem na lotnisko, gdzie pożegnałem się z moją mamą i wszedłem do samolotu tak szybko, jak to było możliwe.


— Lot był nudny, więc nie ma się nad czym rozwodzić —


Samolot wylądował i po raz pierwszy, ujrzałem Warszawę. Jednak ten widok to nie była niespodzianka dla mnie. Podczas jazdy do hostelu przy Marszałkowskiej, w którym mieszkałem przez dwa tygodnie, widziałem architekturę miasta. Sprawiała, że Warszawa wygląda tak jak to, co widziałoby się w retrofuturystycznym społeczeństwie z jej nowoczesnymi drapaczami chmur i budynkami w stylu PRL.


Przez ten okres dwóch tygodni zacząłem sobie uświadamiać, że polskie społeczeństwo rożni się od amerykańskiego. Ludzie nie uśmiechają się na ulicach, ubierają się formalniej niż w Ameryce i wydawało mi się, że mówią szybciej niż prędkość dźwięku. Ale wiedziałem, żeby się zasymilować, musiałem zachowywać się jak Polacy i moim zdaniem, najlepszym sposobem by to zrobić było jedzenie tradycyjnych potraw.


Trzeba wspomnieć, że jedzenie bardzo dobrze smakuje! Zjadłem dużo kotletów schabowych, ziemniaków i barszczu czerwonego. Między innymi z tego powodu ludzie nazywają mnie Gienek. Nawet pamiętam, że zamówiłem pizzę na wynos we włoskiej restauracji i poszedłem na kebab „samo mięso” na ostro do tureckiej knajpy. Tam nauczyłem się słowa „ostry” jak nie mogłem zrozumieć, co mówił kasjer.


Za rogiem hostelu była luksusowa restauracja, która oferowała wykwintne jedzenie z amerykańskimi wypływami. Cieszyłem się kolacją, kiedy usłyszałem śmiechy ze stołu, gdzie siedziały trzy dziewczyny. Patrzyły się w telefony, co wskazywało, że było tam coś ekscytującego. Kelner przyszedł do mnie i powiedział, że Taco Hemingway był w restauracji. Szybko, ale na luzie, poszedłem do jego stołu po zdjęcie. Jadł ze swoimi znajomymi i nie chciałem być niegrzeczny, więc zapytałem go uprzejmie, czy moglibyśmy sobie zrobić zdjęcie. Zrobiliśmy zdjęcie i pogawędziliśmy na krótko przed wyjściem z restauracji. W końcu moi polscy znajomi byli rozgniewani, że poznałem Taco a byłem w Polsce tylko od dwóch tygodni.


Przed oficjalnym rozpoczęciem zajęć na SGH, brałem udział w lekcjach języka polskiego organizowanych przez CIEE. Miałem nauczycielkę z Uniwersytetu Warszawskiego. Ona nauczyła mnie, że można się uczyć tak trudnego języka przez internet i samemu z książek, i nie tylko. Żeby brzmieć jak native, trzeba ćwiczyć język przez mówienie—a to był mój problem! Nie miałem doświadczenia, a aktywne umiejętności są najtrudniejsze do poprawienia. Utwierdziłem się w tym przekonaniu, kiedy spotkałem znajomych, których znałem wcześniej tylko z internetu.


— Oto krótka historia o jednej z tych osób —


Jedna osoba stała na peronie, druga wychodziła właśnie z pociągu. Długo upewniały się czy osoba z naprzeciwka to właśnie ta, za którąsię podawała. Wydawało się, że ten moment trwał wiecznie. W rzeczywistości było to zaledwie kilka sekund. Osoba na peronie była moją znajomą, a ja byłem osobą, która wysiadała z pociągu.


Zaczęliśmy niezręcznie rozmawiać po polsku o tym jak minąnam dzień, jak gdybyśmy nie kończyli SMS-ować. Naszym planem było to, żeby pójść na naleśniki do dobrej restauracji blisko stacji Politechnika. Według słownika, naleśniki to po angielsku „pancakes”. Jednak, te polskie naleśniki są najpodobniejsze do „crêpes” i nie należy mylić ich z naleśnikami amerykańskimi.


Siedziałem przy stole, naprzeciw mojej znajomej. Ona prowadziła rozmowę, bo ja byłem nerwowy i nie miałem zielonego pojęcia, co mówić z moim limitowanym słownictwem. Starałem się tworzyć zdania, ale nie udawało mi się, dlatego przestałem mówić zupełnie. Kelnerka podeszła do stołu i zapytała nas, co chcemy. Znajoma odpowiedziała pytając o składniki w naleśnikach, a ja nie rozumiałem niczego. Następnie ja musiałem zamówić. Kelnerka zwróciła się do mnie. Zamówiłem coś z mięsem jak zwykle i na pewno miałem trudności w mówieniu. Natychmiast kelnerka wiedziała, że byłem obcokrajowcem. Ona popatrzyła na znajomą i powiedziała jej coś w stylu: „On jest Amerykaninem? Powodzenia!” Mimo braku doświadczenia, nie było mi trudno to zrozumieć…


Po tym pierwszym spotkaniu spotkaliśmy się jeszcze parę razy i nadal często rozmawiamy. Nawet myślimy o otworzeniu wspólnego biznesu łączącego Polskę z Ameryką. Dodatkowo, nie rozmawiamy już niezręcznie.

94 views1 comment
bottom of page